An Epitaph of a Coffee Mug.

 

My life started as a plain white mug;
Moved to a printing shop.
And not to a retail shop, by fate I guess
'Cause that's what made my life special.












One fine day a pretty girl picked me up
And got a Batman printed on me
I thought how lucky I must be to be
Kissing this pretty girl's lips
and get cuddled by her every day.


But the truth dawned on me the very next day
I was the gift to an ugly boy, her man.
Instead of her soft red lips,
His horrible dark ones were the ones
Going to torture me in the days to come, I thought.


Life wasn't as bad as I expected it to be
'Cause this man treated me with love,
For I was his love's gift.
Every day I held the coffee
of some of Kodagu's finest beans.
And washed with the finest soap around.
He treated me with Floyd's music
every dawn and dusk.
But I always longed for the pretty girl's lips.


One fine day luck knocked on me.
This boy poured the same coffee into me.
This time around, it was her lips.
she drank from me.
oh! What an ecstasy,
That felt like Paradise
That's when I lost my long preserved celibacy.
But on the very fortunate day
The pretty girl and her man fought.
Since then I've never seen her,
And I long for her lips every day.
She was my first and last love.

The next few days this boy treated me
in the worst ways he could;
My skin was bathed with whisky one day,
and his on another.
On one cursed day out of anger,
 he hurled me and I ended up in a garbage pit.

Life turned out to be a different journey.
A beggar picked me up,
Every day he treated me in the worst possible ways.
One day I was his cup for his rtten soup,
On another, I turned into a begging bowl.
Forget the good old days of the finest soap,
He never even gave me a bath.

One unfortunate night,
I slipped from his bag onto the road.
And broke as a vehicle ran over me.
For thirteen days I lied there, in coma
That's when a little boy picked me up
and took me to his house.

I heard him tell his mother
That I was for a certain "Funk with Junk" at school.
My life always had ups and downs,
I need to thank the God I've never seen or understood.
That pretty girl was a Muslim,
her man a Hindu
And the beggar a Christian, never got the difference.
Thankful as He gave me an amazing journey
And not just let me be a plain mug in a retailer's shop.

 

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

